Studio Ghibli- My Neighbour Totoro

One of the best things in my life has to be Studio Ghibli. As a media student I look at many different types of films and narratives, and ive never come across a production company that appeals so much to me.

When i was shown my first ever Studio Ghibli film a few years back, (Hayao Miyazaki’s My Neighbour Totoro) i automatically fell in love. After that i watched all of the Ghibli collection and tried my hardest to collect things to do with Totoro. And after many films, i realised how much it had become a major part of my life.

If theres one film that defines Ghibli, it would be this. With its beautiful storyline, amazing characters, and breathtaking animation, theres no wonder that it is my favourite film of all time. Those of you who have seen the film or know about Totoro you will know that he is a huge owl/cat like creature who is seen by young children who will themselves to see him. Sisters Mei and Satsuki move to the into a new house with their father in the countryside. The youngest sister, Mei, an adorable and somewhat spoilt young girl first sees Totoro, and instantly loves him. And as the film goes on, we see the two sisters go on their own adventure with the help of Totoro and a few friends.

Mei, Satsuki and the Totoro's

Mei, Satsuki and the Totoro

The storyline shows many characters who also interact with the two girls, such as the dust bunnies (balls of black soot) and one of the most important: the catbus. If anybody has ever seen a Miyazaki movie you wont be suprised to see the usual dose of morals placed within. Its a very family orientated film, and shows that even younger children can go miles out of their way (literally) to show their love for their parents.

One of the things that made me enjoy the film even more was the soundtrack. It’s insanely catchy theme tune stays in my head for days, and whenever it comes on my ipod i just have the urge to smile. Which does make me look crazy if im in public, but it must be a sign of an amazing film! And some can say, thanks to Pixar, more and more people are becoming aware of Totoro and other Ghibli films. Even though i can’t personally watch the disney dubbed version as i have watched the original too many times to appreiciate the new voices (which after 5 mins drive me crazy). However, others who will watch it for the first time wont notice it as much as i do :]

Give it a try, you wont regret it! :]

One of my favourite Totoro images

One of my favourite Totoro images

8 thoughts on “Studio Ghibli- My Neighbour Totoro

  1. i never understood whenever someone say they have to visit a particular country or they’d absolutely just die. Now i know!! Howl’s Moving Castle was my first studio ghibli show when i was studying film and ever since then, it has been my aim to visit the studio ghibli museum in japan!

  2. i never understood whenever someone say they have to visit a particular country or they’d absolutely just die. Now i know!! Howl’s Moving Castle was my first studio ghibli show when i was studying film and ever since then, it has been my aim to visit the studio ghibli museum in japan!

  3. i’am collecting totoro stuff too!!
    fall in love with totoro..and other gibli studio’s movie..
    ponyo, spirited away, nausica, princes mononoke, a lots lah…

Leave a comment